Lame-O News

Welcome Thin Lips To Lame-O!

Posted on February 16th, 2016

We've signed the amazing Philly band Thin Lips! We're so excited to have them join our Lame-O family, and in celebration we're pressing their first ever 7" Divorce Year! You can find it on our webstore or digitally over on the band's Bandcamp.

We've got lots of exciting news coming up with these guys soon, including details on their debut LP, so be on the lookout, and start by rocking out to Divorce Year!

Cherry Signs To Lame-O Records!

Posted on January 27th, 2016

Lame-O Records is excited to announce the newest band to their roster, Cherry! Cherry will be releasing it's debut 7" Gloom via Lame-O Records on February 19th. WXPN's The Key is now premiering the music video for "Alligators." Pre-orders for the 7" are available now in our store, and digitally through Lame-O Records' bandcamp.

Cherry is the new bedroom-pop project from Russell Edling (ex-Kite Party). The band's first ever 7" will be released in anticipation of their debut full-length, coming to Lame-O Records in late 2016. Reminiscent of bands like Beat Happening, Yo La Tengo and The Magnetic Fields, Cherry puts it's first foot forward into the class of great indie rock songwriters. Although Gloom primarily features Russell Edling, with some help from Pete Knepper on drums. Cherry has recently put together a full band lineup including Justin Fox (ex-Kite Party), Spencer Combs (of Three Man Cannon), Jesse Kennedy and Lame-O's own Eric Osman on drums.

We've Signed The Pooches!

Posted on January 11th, 2016

We're very very very excited to announce we've signed The Pooches out of Glasgow, Scotland! We'll be putting out their new EP Heart Attack on January 29th. You can check out the title track via Stereogum at the link below!

The Pooches started as the one-man home recording project of Jimmy Hindle during the summer of 2013 in Glasgow, Scotland. After a successful Kickstarter campaign to fund an album of 18 original songs, ‘Smoochin’ with the Pooches’ was self-released digitally via Bandcamp in late 2013. With it’s lo-fi pop charms being described as sounding ‘like Julian Casablancas fronting The Beach Boys’, it soon caught the attention of local label Gold Mold Records, who released it on limited edition tape in the UK, with it selling out pretty much straight away. The achieved top ten adds at over 20 college radio stations in the US. A further collection of home recordings - ‘One Man Dog’ - was also released in early 2015.

The band, now expanded to a 4 piece with Calvin Halliday on drums, Andy Kelly on guitar and Gavin Cormack on bass, have opened for Surfer Blood, Juan Wauters, Colleen Green, Craft Spells, Hop Along and more.

The new line-up recorded their debut EP, ‘Heart Attack’ in the summer of 2015 with Chris McCrory at Shady Lane Studios in Glasgow. 'Heart Attack' takes influence from the Stiff Records sound of bands like Any Trouble and Squeeze, whilst simultaneously carrying on the tradition of Glaswegian indie-pop legends The Pastels and Teenage Fanclub. In 2016, the EP will be released via Lame-O Records and Gnar Tapes in the US.

The Max Levine Ensemble Announce 'Backlash, Baby'

Posted on October 19th, 2015

We're co-releasing the new record from The Max Levine Ensemble with Rumbletowne Records! They've put out a really killer new Bond-esque music video for their song "Sun's Early Rays" via Brooklyn Vegan. The video stars some cool indie rock kids. Pre-orders for these records will go up Wednesday, October 21st so meet us back here then!